Ford Transit Custom Van Reviews from Vanarama customers
svg_svg_svg_svg_svg_svg_svgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvg_brochuresvg_burgersvg_bvrlasvg_bvrlasvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvg_vrsvg_icon-fleetsvg_icon-pickup svg_svg_svg_svg_svg_svg_svg_svg_svg_svg_iconsiconsiconsicons

We're closed.
Need a quote? Chat to iVan

Ford Transit Custom Van Review

(715 Reviews)
  • Blazer Blue

  • Deep Impact Blue

  • Frozen White

  • Magnetic

  • Moondust Silver

  • Race Red

  • Shadow Black

  • Stratosphere

  • Tectonic Silver

Latest Reviews

  • Iain Dell - 08/12/2017

    Good high spec and easy to drive.

  • Gerry Mellor - 06/12/2017

    Early days to give a true honest assessment however so far the van has seemed to be economic to run which was a consideration. Other feedback is too early to say for sure.

  • David Heyes - 06/12/2017

    Excellent. Large amount of space. Great build quality and reliability.

Read more reviews
  • Handling: STARS
  • Comfort: STARS
  • Quality: STARS
  • Reliability: STARS
  • Performance: STARS
  • Practicality: STARS
  • Running Costs: STARS
  • Value for Money: STARS

Our Review

Ford Transit Custom 290 SWB Trend 125PS Review

It's all change for Britain's best selling medium sized van. The iconic Transit remains extremely popular and has already netted Auto Express’s Van of the year accolade, so no surprises that it accounts for almost one in five of all new vans sold and has set a bench mark against which other vans are judged. So, getting it right with this new generation Transit has been crucial.

But what exactly is the Transit Custom, you may be asking? Well in order to differentiate the range, Ford is splitting the Transit line-up so that the standard one tonne model is now renamed Transit Custom, while the bigger two tonne models will remain just Transit. Our Custom is in Trend trim – above Base but below Limited and Sport – and powered by the 125hp version of the newcomer’s 2.2-litre TDCi diesel.

At a glance

This latest Transit shares the new Ford ‘kinetic design’ styling. We've seen it on Ford cars like the latest Focus and the Fiesta and its adoption onto the van range has been surprisingly successful from an aesthetic point of view too. The Transit Custom certainly has a more up market appearance than the previous version, although it has perhaps lost a little of its angular and rugged charm.

The Transit Custom tested here looks entirely different from its predecessor. Gone are the rather chunky, utilitarian looks of the Mk5, to be replaced by stylish curves and an almost car-like ride and handling package. In fact, everything but the engine, transmission and suspension has been replaced with new parts – and even those items carried over have been heavily modified.

Engines and spec.

The Transit Custom’s 2.2-litre Duratorq TDCi engine is available with 100bhp, 125bhp and 155bhp outputs, driving through a six-speed manual gearbox to the front wheels. All models deliver a claimed 39-42mpg combined fuel economy figure, with emission levels of 178-189g/km of CO2, which compares well with its competitors. Ford customers can opt for dedicated ECOnetic Transit Custom vans in both short and long wheelbases, or an ECOnetic Technology pack on most models in the range. The ECOnetic models use a specially calibrated 100bhp engine with auto start-stop, smart regenerative charging – where the alternator works harder when the van is braking or decelerating, using less engine power during acceleration – a gear-change indicator in the dash, a switchable speed limiter, a battery management system and aerodynamic wheel trims. The result is a claimed fuel consumption of up to 46.3mpg and CO2 emissions of just 162g/km. Service intervals have been set at a market-leading two years or 30,000 miles and Transit Custom is covered by a three-year/100,000-mile warranty.

At the wheel

Clamber in to the cab of the new Transit Custom and you could think that you were behind the wheel of a Mondeo. Interior quality is a big step up and Ford has gone to great lengths to ensure that the Custom is more car-like, with the aim of making the van appeal to a wider market. High quality materials are used throughout and the cabin feels like it will endure wear and tear well. Comfort is first class, thanks to supportive, if slightly high, seats and a range of adjustments that includes steering wheel tilt and reach.

There’s plenty of space, with seating for three in the front, and a range of useful storage compartments dotted around. One neat touch is a small recess just ahead of the gear lever which can be used to hold mobile phones in an accessible location. The interior of the Transit Custom is refined and quiet and it’s only when the vehicle is heavily laden that engine noise intrudes noticeably. Visibility from the cab is excellent as well, making the van easy to manoeuvre. Both front doors open very wide, making getting in and out easy and buyers will also be pleased with the amount of standard equipment and the range of advanced options which can help reduce driver stress and fatigue.

On the road

It’s hard to fault the way the Transit Custom drives and rides. The engines are smooth and flexible and power is transmitted to the front wheels via a slick and precise six-speed manual gearbox. An automatic start-stop system is fitted, to help reduce fuel consumption, and it operates quickly and unobtrusively.

On the road the Transit Custom impresses. Its controls are all well weighted and precise and even negotiating your way through busy streets is easy and stress-free. The handling is good, more reminiscent of a car than a van, and the brakes are powerful and effective. The ride quality is excellent which, in conjunction with the quiet cabin and supportive seats, means driving for long distances isn’t tiring or frustrating.

You can fit three Euro pallets in the rear of the Transit Custom and it’s easier to see what’s going on inside thanks to LED lights. This simple change makes the Custom ten times more practical than others straight away. Even the SWB version can carry 3-metre long items inside the cargo area and can also tow trailers starting at 2,000kg. And if the trailer sways, the van senses this and reduces the engine torque and also applies the brakes to the appropriate wheels to help stop the sway. Clever stuff! The brochure says it has Hill Start Assist, but what this actually means is the van won’t roll backwards down a slope when you take your foot off the power to go for the brake. It works in forward and reverse gears too.

There’s no dirty fuel cap to unscrew because it has Ford’s new cap-less fuelling point with a safeguard to stop you from putting a petrol nozzle in. Need to fill up from a jerry can? Thoughtfully, Ford has put a special plastic funnel in the glove box especially for this eventuality.

Our Verdict

Ford’s latest Transit Custom is the most practical one-tonne panel van yet. It feels good to drive, and even better to look at, but more importantly the Custom has some very thoughtful additions which will make ownership and time on the road in the van so much more enjoyable.

Our man with a van

Adrian Foster

Motoring journalist Adrian Foster has been commissioned to write impartial van and pick up reviews for our website, specifically to help with your decision making process. We have provided him with a van and the spec and nothing more, so you can rely on his views being real and honest.

Adrian began his career in the motor retail industry with Perry’s Group before turning his hand to motoring journalism. He launched the Drivelines motoring press agency as a means of providing high quality journalism on new cars, commercial vehicles, motorsport and the motor industry at large.

Customer reviews

Below are our customer reviews for the Ford Transit Custom. Want to have your say? Leave a review for the Ford Transit Custom now.

  • December 05 2017

    I just love it, its lovely to drive, very comfortable and good on fuel compared to my last van. Overall it got everything I need and more.

  • December 05 2017

    Even better than I thought it would be, drives like a nice car and has a huge amount of space in the back.

  • December 04 2017

    Early days yet however the van is comfortable and quiet, well kitted out and seems good on fuel.

  • November 30 2017

    Very happy

  • November 30 2017

    It is easy to drive and comfortable, it suits my needs well

  • November 30 2017

    Its a great vehicle to handle - smooth

  • September 19 2017

    Best van there is.

  • September 13 2017

    Excellent looking and reliable van.

  • September 11 2017

    Brilliant van. Best I've ever driven, I would rather drive it than my BMW 540 m sport!

  • September 06 2017

    Great, practical, comfortable, good value car.

  • August 25 2017

    Easy to drive, plenty of space, comfortable, looks good, especially in magnetic grey. VERY PLEASED!

  • August 11 2017

    The best van I have driven by a long way. So many extra touches that show lots of thought into the drivers needs.

  • August 10 2017

    It's like driving a car. The gadgets are great and the van is comfortable. Space in the back seems to be never ending.

  • August 08 2017

    Love it.

  • August 07 2017

    ONE OF THE BEST VANS I HAVE DRIVEN!

  • August 04 2017

    Our engineers love this van!

  • August 03 2017

    Great. Small problem was inside the van, the floor was very slippy. I put a sheet of ply on the floor and that sorted the problem.

  • August 03 2017

    Its as good as a car to drive - Its my new baby now.

  • July 31 2017

    I had done extensive research, there is a reason why the most popular van in Britain remains so.

  • July 18 2017

    Although early days it seems that it the vehicle that is suited to my business needs.

  • July 17 2017

    Had one before and liked it so I got another one.

  • July 14 2017

    Meets all requirements but on a personal note lack of driver consul storage space.

  • July 14 2017

    Awesome!

  • July 13 2017

    Good vans.

  • July 06 2017

    Really impressed with the auto.

  • July 06 2017

    Very good.

  • July 05 2017

    Practically cut my fuel bill in half and I still have the space I need to do my job.

  • July 04 2017

    This van drives like a car; enough room for all my tools and looks smart.

  • July 02 2017

    Nice looking van. Well presented, makes my business look professional.

  • June 29 2017

    5 star only cause I cannot give the vehicle a 6 star!

  • June 28 2017

    Very very good all round van.

  • June 27 2017

    Excellent.

  • June 27 2017

    I can't fault it, great van.

  • June 27 2017

    Great.

  • June 23 2017

    A comfortable van to drive. Performance is very good.

  • June 21 2017

    Can't fault the van it's excellent.

  • June 20 2017

    Fabulous van, with all the bells and whistles of a high-end car.

  • June 10 2017

    I've only ever used Transits. Looked at the alternatives but the new model has everything I wanted from a van.

  • June 07 2017

    Very pleased.

  • June 01 2017

    Very pleased.

  • May 30 2017

    Can't fault it. Economical, colour and spec is first class.

  • May 30 2017

    Couldn't believe the spec on it. It's a joy to go to work in.

  • May 30 2017

    Very good van.

  • May 16 2017

    A first class vehicle.

  • May 05 2017

    My other vehicles are Ford and the brand offers excellent value.

  • May 04 2017

    Very good.

  • May 02 2017

    Fits in with what my business needs are.

  • April 26 2017

    Drove better.

  • April 24 2017

    Good spec van, drives nicely other than a bit of torque steer and the gear box isn't that smooth, but that could be because its new.

  • April 24 2017

    Very good.

  • April 04 2017

    Very good van for my needs.

  • March 21 2017

    Van is good but still no handbook provided to allow driver to fully understand all vehicle operations.

  • March 21 2017

    Already owned one which I have now sold and its the same van but with a new colour.

  • March 21 2017

    Good although paint chips very easily.

  • February 22 2017

    Like driving a car, could of done with side door on drivers side as well but I did not want to wait 6 weeks for factory build. The spec on the custom is great with dab radio & Bluetooth, alloys and parking sensors. It looks good while being a very practical van.

  • February 21 2017

    Very smart looking van. Very car like and enjoyable to drive. Build quality feels solid with a genourous load space.

  • February 21 2017

    It's a nice van. I am happy with it.

  • February 09 2017

    Very pleased. Very pleasant to drive.

  • February 02 2017

    The perfect tool for the job our engineers require.

  • January 24 2017

    Very pleased, suprised how smooth it is. Easy to drive.

  • January 24 2017

    An excellent vehicle for my purposes

  • January 13 2017

    Lovely van. More like a good quality car up front. With the practical use as a van too.

  • January 13 2017

    Great van. Thought of everything but low mpg.

  • December 20 2016

    Good quality vehicle.

  • December 20 2016

    So far....I love it!

  • December 20 2016

    Being a mercedes van driver for the past 20 years, I was delighted with the build quality and extras as standard on the Transit. The load space is excellent and having 4 load lights in the back make it brighter and easier to work with especially in winter.Sitting higher up is better and comfort more than adequate.

  • December 15 2016

    I'm enjoying all the benefits of my new van. Space reliability & professionalism.

  • December 15 2016

    I'm enjoying all the benefits of my new van. Space reliability & professionalism.

  • December 14 2016

    Absolutely perfect. Great size, lovely colour, interior is comfortable and feels like a car. Very good on fuel and feels like an all round solid van, couldn't be happier.

  • December 13 2016

    Exellent Van, looks good drives good, would recommend it over other vans I have tested.

  • December 13 2016

    I am very happy with the vehicle, it is a pleasure to drive.

  • December 07 2016

    Lovely to drive. Comfortable with loads if room. Highly recommend anyone to get one.

  • December 01 2016

    Lovely to drive, quick and stylish. Only con is the accelerator is very sensitive but I will get used to it.

  • December 01 2016

    I am very pleased indeed with my new van. It meets all my requirements and more.

  • December 01 2016

    I've always had Transits and love them.

  • December 01 2016

    Great van. Cheap to run with great extras.

  • November 28 2016

    Like driving a big high spec car. Only downside, I was under the impression that it came plylined, it didn't.

  • November 28 2016

    Lovely new van

  • November 28 2016

    Brilliant

  • November 28 2016

    It's very nice.

  • November 24 2016

    Very nice

  • November 23 2016

    Absolutely would recommend this to anyone. Excellent van throughout.

  • November 22 2016

    Not as amazing as everyone makes out, but does the job and is hardly slumming it :-)

  • November 22 2016

    Absolutely fantastic, drives like a car loads of standard features, just a nice place to be when driving.

  • November 22 2016

    Love it.

  • November 22 2016

    Love it, step up in size for me, can get everything in the back now but have not lost a comfortable drive

  • November 22 2016

    Excellent

  • November 21 2016

    Having not had the vehicle for long it is difficult to rate it properly, however we are pleased with its overall performance to date.

  • November 21 2016

    Very good van its like driving a car its that easy.

  • November 15 2016

    Very comfy well specced vehicle.

  • November 14 2016

    Love the comfort and features. Quite bouncy when travelling without much stuff on board. Receive lots of comments about how good it looks.

  • November 14 2016

    Great van. Drives just like a car.

  • November 14 2016

    This is going to be good for what I want it for.

  • November 08 2016

    holds the road well. comfortable driving position. not sure about fuel economy as not had it long enough.

  • November 07 2016

    Looks good.

  • November 07 2016

    To be honest I've not actually driven it more than 2 miles since I've had it. So its hard to say, but it looks great!

  • November 01 2016

    Great all round van the only bad point is the mpg isn't as good as it says!!

  • November 01 2016

    Love it so far. One downside is the slippery floor! I had to buy rubber matting as everything was moving about!

  • October 27 2016

    Just the ticket. Smart, cheap and loaded with extras.

  • October 27 2016

    Very nice van, just like driving a car and enough space in the back for my needs.

  • October 26 2016

    Beautiful and a pleasure to drive.

  • October 26 2016

    Great!

  • October 26 2016

    Great.

  • October 24 2016

    I love these new Ford Transit Custom's, this is my second one. It's great, has loads of toys on them. Now I can see why everyone wants one.

  • October 24 2016

    Great drive, very practical and looks good. Overall it's a great van.

  • October 19 2016

    Fantastic vehicle.

  • October 11 2016

    Love it, definitely made the right choice.

  • October 10 2016

    Good quality van and ideal for my business and the miles I do.

  • October 10 2016

    Lovely.

  • October 05 2016

    Looks good, great on fuel.

  • October 05 2016

    Excellent van. Very comfortable and spacious. Handles like a car and has plenty of power for a commercial vehicle. Seems to have pretty good fuel economy but that will depend on how its driven. Well made with lots of nice features front and rear parking sensors, heated driver seat, air conditioning etc. Overall I'm very pleased with my van and the excellent service provided by the Vanarama Team!

  • September 28 2016

    Terrific.

  • September 21 2016

    An excellent vehicle which is great to drive, just like driving a car with all the bells whistles you need. Great load space. Fuel consumption seems very good but only had the vehicle for less than two weeks so hard to give a comprehensive review of miles per gallon and reliability. So far I'm extremely happy.

  • September 20 2016

    I was very pleased with my van.

  • September 20 2016

    Excellent van. Good load space. Good pull and drives like a car. Highly recommended.

  • September 19 2016

    What a great van, ideal for my needs as a gas fitter.

  • September 13 2016

    Very happy with it, it fits my style of work and leisure.

  • September 08 2016

    Perfect for the job that I do.

  • September 08 2016

    Tidy van.

  • September 08 2016

    Good van, loads of extras as standard.

  • September 08 2016

    Love it. Looks great, drives great. The spec is quality, it's like driving a luxury car!

  • September 02 2016

    Perfect for my business.

  • August 23 2016

    Superb vehicle. Would rather drive this van instead of a car.

  • August 23 2016

    Exactly what I needed in quick time.

  • August 23 2016

    Superb looking with great interior comfort.

  • August 17 2016

    As I've only had the van a couple of weeks I can't really comment on reliability. Fuel consumption isn't brilliant but it's not too bad.

  • August 16 2016

    Good vehicle, thirsty for fuel but worth it.

  • August 16 2016

    Love it.

  • August 16 2016

    This is my second Ford Transit Custom. Need I say more??

  • August 16 2016

    Great van for any business.

  • August 10 2016

    The guys are very pleased with our choice for them.

  • August 10 2016

    Well built, nice van, very comfy and nice to drive.

  • August 01 2016

    Over the moon with it, it's a great van.

  • July 29 2016

    Great van, far superior to my old Nissan Primastar.

  • July 27 2016

    Great van, ideal for my job.

  • July 26 2016

    Very pleased, it came with all the gadgets. Cant fault it.

  • July 25 2016

    Nice all round van. Powerful where needed.

  • July 22 2016

    Not a bad van.

  • July 20 2016

    Getting used to driving this much bigger van than my last van. The Ford Transit Custom is very car like in the cabin, and well equipped. It has predictable and smooth handling, and will give a decent boost of power if required. So far, so good! But time will tell if my next van will be another Transit!

  • July 20 2016

    Excellent, plenty of room after driving a Berlingo for the last 12 years!

  • July 18 2016

    I love the look of the van and being a woman this was important to me.

  • July 15 2016

    Excellent, like driving a car, could do with a factory reversing camera though.

  • July 15 2016

    Looks great, does everything that a Ford Transit Custom should do with plenty of extras including front and rear parking sensors which really come in handy. It's the best van I have had in my twenty years of running commercial vehicles, cannot fault the Transit Custom.

  • July 15 2016

    Very good van, would recommend it.

  • July 14 2016

    A very comfortable van. Quiet, quick with plenty of extras.

  • July 13 2016

    Excellent van.

  • July 13 2016

    The van is perfect for my working needs, the load area is surprising large.

  • July 13 2016

    Only had it 2 weeks but it is an excellent van. You tend to get a lot more spec from Ford for the money paid.

  • July 13 2016

    Really pleased with the van. Only drawback at the moment is that the flooring is really slippy, and requires a non slip surface adding.

  • July 13 2016

    Love it, perfect, thanks.

  • July 13 2016

    Brilliant.

  • July 13 2016

    Very happy. Looks good, well thought out cab and seems to be good on fuel.

  • July 11 2016

    Only had it a week but very nice so far.

  • July 11 2016

    Very happy. Has all the additional electronics which makes for a great work vehicle.

  • July 11 2016

    So far so good.

  • July 11 2016

    Best van I've driven.

  • July 11 2016

    Very pleased.

  • July 11 2016

    Perfect!!!!

  • June 30 2016

    Very good.

  • June 30 2016

    Brilliant.

  • June 30 2016

    Great van. Good spec for a base model. Heated seats were a bonus. Sat-Nav doesn't work but Ford are fixing that. Other than that can't knock it.

  • June 29 2016

    Great van. I really like the performance and great value considering all the extra's included too. The only downside is the slippy plastic material used to board the loading area floor. We incurred an additional expense re-covering this area in timber instead.

  • June 27 2016

    Amazing.

  • June 22 2016

    The Transit pulls well once moving but suffers from turbo lag to the point of stalling on islands. One more dislike is the split windows in damp mornings you drop windows but doesn't clear front section to see mirrors!!!

  • June 21 2016

    Very comfortable van to drive and looks great.

  • June 21 2016

    Great van, I've sold my BMW as I'm that impressed with the van I use it for work and leisure.

  • June 17 2016

    Great van, well equipped and best looking on the market.

  • June 17 2016

    It's exactly what I was looking for.

  • June 15 2016

    Great van.

  • June 13 2016

    Great van, looks great overall.

  • June 13 2016

    Exceeded my expectations.

  • June 07 2016

    What a van Ford have made, first class, arrive in comfort for a full days work and a comfortable drive back home, superb.

  • June 06 2016

    I am very pleased with my van it was just as good as I thought it would be drives like a car with the space of a van.

  • June 06 2016

    The van is great but not as much useful storage in the cab as my previous 2012 Transit.

  • June 06 2016

    Nice van, plenty of room, drives great.

  • June 06 2016

    Very good.

  • May 27 2016

    The van is exactly what I require for the nature of my work.

  • May 27 2016

    Great.

  • May 24 2016

    Great van, bit heavy on fuel. Comfy and looks the part!

  • May 20 2016

    I'm still getting to know the van but my first impressions are good, a big improvement on my old Transit. It is far more economical than the old van and the new van makes a better impression on customers.

  • May 19 2016

    Good looking van, enough space in the back and comfortable to drive.

  • May 19 2016

    Great vehicle overall, very practical as you would expect from Ford Transit. It lacks a couple of extras such as USB socket and air con. Also the wipe clean floor in the rear is great until you load up and it's like an ice rink in the back with loads sliding around all over the place.

  • May 19 2016

    Perfect.

  • May 19 2016

    I love it.

  • May 17 2016

    Fantastic van, drives like a car great on fuel.

  • May 16 2016

    Great van, looks good and drives well.

  • May 13 2016

    Its a really good van and very versitile. I have found it is somewhat under powered even when carrying a small amount of weight.

  • May 04 2016

    Good working van.

  • May 04 2016

    Great drive & superb spec. Best looking van on the road.

  • May 03 2016

    The Transit Custom is a cracking looking van and is great to drive but I'm a bit disappointed in the fuel economy (currently 31mpg). I hope this increases as the mileage increases as I'm self employed and use the van every day for work. I thought a modern Diesel engine would have better fuel economy but that is my only minor complaint.

  • May 03 2016

    So far, so good.

  • April 28 2016

    Only had the van a couple of weeks but is exactly what I required, goes really well, as comfortable as my car and also as well kitted out. I love it.

  • April 28 2016

    Great van all round and looks sharp on the road.

  • April 26 2016

    Great van. Everyone who sees it loves it. It's great for work and I have already been on family trip with it and it's better than a car. Loads of space and loads of gadgets, I couldn't ask for more.

  • April 26 2016

    Good van.

  • April 19 2016

    Really great van and lovely to drive.

  • April 19 2016

    So far, so good.

  • April 15 2016

    Car is amazing!!!

  • April 15 2016

    Lovely van no problems

  • April 15 2016

    Great.

  • April 15 2016

    Top spec, has more accessories than I expected.

  • April 08 2016

    Having taken a while to decide on a van I opted for the Custom LTD, on the whole I'm very pleased with my choice. Superbly built and very comfortable to drive the custom is the ideal van for my growing business. Being a window cleaner I opted for the 290 version to handle the 600kg water filled tank. All the extras are excellent especially the heated seats! I opted for the LED lights in the cargo area, they are brilliant. One negative for me is the stiff suspension, makes for quite a bumpy ride in my opinion. I could understand it in the Sport version but wasn't expecting to feel every bit of the road. Having said this it's a fantastic van with some very nice features and compared to my old expert is on another level!

  • April 08 2016

    This is the first van I've owned having previously had pick ups and I've been very impressed. Lovely to drive, very comfortable and car like. The sensors front and back make life very easy when parking and the heated seats are a god send after a hard day grafting in the winter. We do a mix of short and long journeys and it's proved great for both. Only addition I'd like would be to go for a roof rack but the additional storage under the passenger seats, accessible from the back, means at least we can get 3 metre lengths in.

  • April 05 2016

    Great van to drive. All the mod cons of a new car and good value for money.

  • April 05 2016

    Perfect.

  • April 01 2016

    Very impressed, it's a joy to drive.

  • April 01 2016

    A great van with all the refinements of a high end car but with plenty of storage for paperwork in the well thought out cab. My van is no where near under full load weight wise but does however bounce around a bit on an uneven road. Overall a great van and I'm very pleased, I cant comment on reliability yet.

  • April 01 2016

    Very good.

  • March 31 2016

    Exactly what I need.

  • March 31 2016

    I love everything about it, and it makes my business look so much more professional.

  • March 31 2016

    It doesn't feel like your driving a van, it's that smooth and comfortable.

  • March 29 2016

    Very happy with the level of equipment.

  • March 29 2016

    Very good.

  • March 23 2016

    Extremely impressed, comfortable spacious and drives like a quality car!

  • March 22 2016

    Excellent van.

  • March 22 2016

    I was driving a rented Vauxhall Vivaro Sportiv for a week immediately before taking delivery of the Transit Custom, and I found it more responsive to drive than the Ford, but in every other respect the Transit Custom beats it, on build quality, equipment, finish and economy. The doors have a nice solid thud when you close them too!

  • March 22 2016

    Everyone is extremely pleased with the new vehicles.

  • March 22 2016

    A great van that meets all my needs.

  • March 15 2016

    I love it, had a Transit Trend before this and this one is so much better.

  • March 15 2016

    Brilliant.

  • March 15 2016

    Nice.

  • March 15 2016

    It's like driving a car, it's perfect. It's got all the mod cons and can fit everything I need in the back.

  • March 15 2016

    Delighted with vehicle.

  • March 15 2016

    Looks great, drives great, has loads of great kit in it and plenty of space for all my tools etc. And being a Transit, I'm expecting it to be bulletproof.

  • March 04 2016

    Very impressed with van, comfortable, handles well and good quality. Not the best on fuel economy and could do with more storage spaces in the front but nether less very happy.

  • March 01 2016

    Too soon to rate properly, but I have given all 5* so far.

  • February 29 2016

    Excellent van, top spec, plenty of toys, all you could need and more for a van! Bad point is the load liner that comes with the van from ford is really slippy so everything moves about in Transit. Would benefit massively from a non slip floor covering or just ply lined floor.

  • February 29 2016

    Looks good and drives like a car.

  • February 29 2016

    Really nice van but I would go for the bigger engine next time.

  • February 29 2016

    Excellent all round vehicle. Superb fuel economy, and FINALLY a van that's comfortable.

  • February 29 2016

    Perfect for me as a joiner, plenty of room for everything I need once I racked out the inside. The L2 is definitely the way to go as the L1 is just a bit on the short side.

  • February 23 2016

    Everything it says on the packet.

  • February 18 2016

    Very nice van, heated screen is great cleared ice in under a minute.

  • February 17 2016

    Just one problem I've found is that when I fill up with diesel, it seems to leak out of nozzle cap.

  • February 17 2016

    Great van, ticks all the boxes.

  • February 17 2016

    Great van, lots of mod cons, drives like a car.

  • February 17 2016

    Very good van, although would be better if both sides had sliding doors.

  • February 15 2016

    Overall excellent, nice to drive for a large vehicle, looks smart, lots of extras, I would highly recommend and currently looking at getting another one.

  • February 15 2016

    I've had the van 3 months now and it drives and looks superb. Great around town and just cruises along the motorway.

  • February 15 2016

    Had the Van for just over a year now, looks great and drives beautifully. Front and rear sensors stopped working but took it into main dealers and fixed in couple of hours, no quibbles. No regrets at all, in fact my son is thinking of getting one after he borrowed it and wasn't keen to give it back!

  • February 15 2016

    I have had the van for 6 months now and it is a great investment. Having the long wheel base allows me to rack the van out and still have room to slide 8X4 sheets in the van still. The comfort in the cab is better than my car. The heated seats are lovely after a hard days graft. It's so nice to drive and I get about 600 miles to a full tank which I think is pretty good. Overall I am extremely happy with my new van.

  • February 15 2016

    Best van I have ever driven. Well manufactured, performance and comfort better than many modern cars.

  • February 15 2016

    Absolutely stunning van in every way.

  • February 15 2016

    Best van on the road by miles, Mercedes and Volkswagen are not as good as these new Transit Customs.

  • February 15 2016

    Very comfortable (for the driver) and responsive drive. Rear passengers a bit up-right and so uncomfortable on long journeys. Load space is excellent.

  • February 15 2016

    Excellent all round working vehicle. I would definitely purchase again and recommend to others.

  • February 15 2016

    I have had the van for 4 months, I use it everyday for my plastering and decorating company. It is by far the best vehicle I have ever had. It drives like a car, and has plenty of torque. There are too many great aspects to the van so I'll tell you the only 2 negative things I can see. The display stating how many miles left in the tank is well out (I drive it mostly lightly loaded) And the second is there is not adequate space for me to store my diary and other paperwork in the front. Otherwise it is absolutely superb.

  • February 15 2016

    It's the most practical car like van I have ever driven. From the DAB radio and hands free SYNC audio system to the flap in the bulk head allowing another meter for pipe or 3m lengths of whatever. It's a fantastic van.

  • February 15 2016

    It's like having another pair of hands.

  • February 12 2016

    Coming up for three years old now, still looks great and drives superbly. We use this vehicle daily and it has not let us down, a little juicy when fully loaded but acceptable. Most comfortable van to drive out there and smooth and quiet. We have the Limited version which is a great spec for the price. I would recommended this van to several of our customers who have all leased through Vanarama. Cab is very well spaced with Ac, heated seats and screen. I would definitely buy another Transit Custom. Our over all our experience with this vehicle is very good.

  • February 12 2016

    We have had our Transit Limited Edition for two years now and it has performed faultlessly, we mainly do motorway miles and it returns 35 mpg. We have covered now 75000 miles with no issues other that the keyed bonnet opener failed but was fixed quickly buy my local ford dealer. The heated seats are a godsend after a hard day on site and we use the cruise control more than we expected. Also the passenger seat can get a bit uncomfortable after a few hours.

  • February 12 2016

    Very comfortable to drive, very good capacity, looks good and a pleasure to go to work in.

  • February 12 2016

    It's a great little van, stylish and practical and handles very well.

  • February 12 2016

    I use it for transporting musical equipment and it's a great van.

  • February 11 2016

    The vehicle is the perfect work horse, whilst having all the creature comforts I've come to expect from a new luxury car. The parking sensors, retractable mirrors, comfort cooling, heated screen and heated seats make the exceptional ride through the day that much more enjoyable.

  • February 11 2016

    The Transit Custom is a very practical van and drives like an executive car.

  • February 11 2016

    Very good and capable van, looks and drives lovely, not as economical as I thought it would be, but that is a small price to pay for such a smart van.

  • February 11 2016

    Fantastic van. Not enough room in the middle seat when carrying two extra passengers, you have to reach across to control the heating temeprature, fan etc. Perhaps there's too much dash! They're the only problems I can think of though.

  • February 11 2016

    I love my new van. I play piano for a living with my band. We travel all over the place sometimes crazy long drives, it's great having the splitter part, in the past in my old people carrier if we braked hard everyone ducked just in case they got hit in the head with a snare drum. The splitter section is ply lined and feels secure, I am happy to leave the equipment with out to much worry. The band really like the van, it drives like a car and we can get where we want quickly and quite comfortably. My one and only criticism is that you can't recline any of the seats other than the drivers, which on a very long journey doesn't make sense, the only one who can lie down, can't. For my liking if the splitter section was 1 foot back and the seats reclined and the the two front passengers seats reclined then it would be absolutely perfect. Other than that, I am over the moon and Vanarama have been fantastic, helpful, quick and kind. Thanks Guys.

  • February 11 2016

    I love It! It could do with a few extra cubby holes in the cab, and I have fitted an after market led lighting kit in the back, but other than that it's great! Comfortable, stylish and it looks professional. I sat on the fence for about a year before finally taking the plunge and ordering a brand new van.... Should of done it years ago!

  • February 11 2016

    I've had my new Ford Transit a couple of months and fell in love with it straight away. I've noticed people in the street and going to work noticing it, also looks good when arriving on jobs as it definetly makes a good impression for you and your business. Vanarama were great all through process and very professional. I'm really really pleased with my Transit, haven't got a bad word to say, it's a pleasure driving to work. I've only ever had old vans and they cost a fortune to keep on road, wish I would have done it years ago but thanks to Vanarama for giving me another option.

  • February 11 2016

    Very good in all aspects except it needs servicing every 12 months and not every 24 as expected.

  • February 11 2016

    I'm a plumber and use my van daily, I've had the van for just over a year and it does everything I need it to do. For starters it gets me to work everyday, secondly the practicality of the van is amazing. I love the hatch in the back that you can lift up and place 3m lengths of copper tube in, also great for ladders and saves putting everything on a roof rack. The cab is so comfortable, it feels like I'm driving a car and the heated seats are a bonus too. Definitely going to be getting another Transit Custom in the future.

  • February 11 2016

    Best looking van on the market at the moment, I think other manufactures will struggle to beat it. Only issue is my limited does 29mpg and on a run with reset trip computer it hits 32 mpg which is awful but at least it's amazing in other ways.

  • February 11 2016

    There isn't a lot to dislike about the Custom, especially in the limited version with 125ps. It has plenty of power and it's economical. The limited version has all the toys you can get, in face most cars aren't as well equipped! Originally I was looking at the Volkswagen van but that just doesn't compare against the Ford Custom. All I can say is it's the best out there and I can't recommend it enough and all my customers love it too.

  • February 11 2016

    Comfortable and looks great, loads of compliments on how stylish it looks, well pleased.

  • February 11 2016

    Owners handbook is very poor.

  • February 11 2016

    Nice van.

  • February 08 2016

    I like the van it's very practical, nice to drive and good performance. I do a lot of local driving so can't really comment on long distance driving the only thing I find annoying is sometimes driving in the cold can cause the engine to cut out, but apart from that it's the perfect vehicle for my business of carpentry and joinery.

  • February 08 2016

    Great van, we can get long timbers under the seat and can get full sheets of plasterboard laying flat. The heated seats are amazing and the quality is right up there, so I'm very satisfied. Thank you to Vanarama for all your continued support.

  • February 08 2016

    After driving a T5 for 5 years I initially rented a Transit Custom which triggered my decision to get one. I was amazed about the van. I am a sales agent and the only reason I cannot drive a car is because I need a space however I do appreciate my comfort when I do miles. I never understood why van's cabin needed to look so boring, basic and feel plastic-y. The Ford Custom is like driving a car and does not look like a normal van's cabin. Everything has been thought with the driver experience in mind, for example, usb in the compartment above the steering wheels for your phone, sat nav, iPod... (No cables everywhere, by the way it would great to get 2 or 3 usb), the bottle of water holder, the coffee cup.... I drive the Limited so I also have the digital radio which is a great add on. The van does look very good and it will show your business in a great light. I have the long base , double cabin which is great for the space however although it is easy to park with the sensors, the van will fill a small space leaving very little room for cars each sides to open their doors without touching your doors. The metal paint is so great I am too scared somebody will scratch it so I usually end up parking far away in supermarket car park which I guess it is not a bad thing if you are like me and need exercise. I've only had the van since September so nothing to report regarding technical issues, so far so good. If you still not sure between a VW and a Ford I would suggest you try one and compare the inside and options as it will be the place you are going to sit everyday.

  • February 08 2016

    Love everything about this van it's like driving a car and looks great too, best decision I've made in a long time.

  • February 08 2016

    We have had our Transit Custom for 4 months now. It's in use daily carrying 600 litres of water (600kg) along with other heavy equipment. Despite the amount of weight carried it still drives like a car with plenty of power. With jobs close together we are constantly stop-starting and yet fuel consumption is very good. The vehicle has lots of extras including DAB radio and automatic wing mirrors, which come in very handy when driving down country lanes or narrow roads. The Bluetooth connectivity is instant and read out text alerts on the dash are very useful for busy work schedules. The van looks great now its all sign written and pulls work through all the time. To date we really cant fault it! We will definitely be sticking with Ford Transits in the future.

  • February 08 2016

    I am a self employed plasterer and this van ticks all the boxes for all my needs. Great for load capacity and the cab has many great features like heated seats and screens for those cold frosty mornings as well as air-con, dab radio and cruise control. If you don't believe me take one out for a test drive. You won't regret it.

  • February 08 2016

    The Transit Custom is fantastic value for money and has proved a brilliant addition to our fleet.

  • February 08 2016

    Really good van, runs like a car and I like the extra compartment in the back for extra length.

  • February 08 2016

    I've had the van 9 months transporting bathroom suites and I've had no problems. It's very good on fuel, saving a third on my fuel bill a month. I do most of my driving around town but on the motorway it drives better than any other van I have had before easy to handle and a better turning circle. I have highly recommended the transit custom and I have no complaints what so ever.

  • February 08 2016

    Superb, drives like a car. Great van, I will definitely be getting another one.

  • February 08 2016

    Had my van for almost 18 months now and I'm really please with it. Great looking van, practical and love the gadgets like the heated seats and the air con.

  • February 08 2016

    I have had the new Ford Transit Custom for around 6 months. I was very pleasantly surprised about how well equipped the van is. It's a very nice place to spend your time driving although I do have a few issues with it. The van is lovely to drive around town but the steering is far to light for the motorway. Although it's very low revving in 6th it still seems to use quite a lot of diesel, now averaging 28.3 mpg compared to the claimed 42 mpg. Overall though it's a great looking van with a lot of equipment and a very practical tools, but I don't think I would have another one.

  • February 08 2016

    I have had my van for 5 months now and I wonder how I managed before without it, I'm a carpenter and joiner and find the van very spacious inside for all my tools and the under passenger seat storage very useful for those extra long bits of wood etc. that would not normally fit inside without strapping on the roof. The cab is quite luxurious and just like being in a car, I love all the little storage facilities in the cab and the ride is comfortable on long journeys too. Economy is not great, could do with a turbo on it to improve economy and performance, reversing takes a bit of getting joust too as rear sensors can make you think that you're closer than you actually are but that comes with practice. Pulling out of junctions can be difficult at times as visibility isn't great out the side window, a little concerned as to how secure rear doors are when shut as it seems like there is quite a lot of movement. But all in all a great asset to any business and I am very happy with my purchase and would highly recommend Vanarama as the whole process of my van purchase was very smooth, they were most professional from my first enquiry to delivery.

  • February 08 2016

    Really nice van, very pleased with it, it's definitely as good as I could expect.

  • February 08 2016

    I have had this van for 2 years now and it has been fantastic. It's used every day for transporting my tools and materials. I used to have a Mercedes Vito, but the custom is better in every department. I have had many comments on its great dark blue metallic colour, which is a change from white. It came ply lined and I requested 2 side loading doors, which I find much more practical for me personally. I fitted a rack for fixings etc on both sides of van. Leaving 1250mm which enables me to slide in 8 x 4 sheets of ply ,plasterboard etc. The hatch under the passenger seat is great for 3m pipe so no need for pipe rack on roof . The cab is refined with lots of extras including heated seats, cruise control, electric fold-able wing mirrors, dab radio, blue-tooth, heated windscreen, passenger seat storage, electric windows, and many more. Outside it has smart alloy wheels , metallic paint, fold-able roof rack and colour coded bumpers. It's really smooth and quite quiet ride, this truly is a great van. I will be leasing another when this one ends, no question. A million miles from the old transit. I only travel about 7000 miles a year at the moment with lots of starting and stopping but it never lets me down.

  • February 08 2016

    This is the best van I have driven, it's quite a comfortable drive, packed with useful features. Very responsive engine and smooth ride, looks stunning and is more economical than previous transits.

  • Ford Transit Custom 270 L1 Diesel Fwd
    February 05 2016

    I don't dread the 5 hours a day driving now that I have my new van, I love it.

  • February 05 2016

    I haven't driven it enough to form a proper opinion.

  • February 05 2016

    Everything I was looking for, highly recommend.

  • February 05 2016

    I have had my Transit for 3 months now and I am really pleased with the van, it has an amazing load space and is a joy to drive it has helped me expand my business by allowing me to carry more materials to site and I am really surprised at how economical it is. I would recommend the Transit Custom to everyone.

  • February 05 2016

    Nice van, I'm pleased with it but it can be heavy on fuel.

  • February 05 2016

    You wouldn't know you were driving a van, it's so comfortable. I've had many nice cars and this is up there with them so I'm glad I chose this van. Also the help I received in choosing my deal was excellent always willing to go extra mile with advice and helpful over the phone whenever I had a query, thank you.

  • February 05 2016

    Love this van. Economical, reliable, nippy and very comfortable. Heated seats and screen are such a luxury. Possibly too posh for a landscaper!

  • February 05 2016

    There are only two things I would change about this van. The heater controls are too far away from the driver and the air conditioning turns itself on if left in either the hottest or coldest setting when you start the ignition. I am being very picky here but to find a fault I feel I have to be. What a fantastic piece of engineering and a joy to drive.

  • February 05 2016

    Such a good van! I love everything about it. Practical stuff is top notch, but also the level of spec coming with the Transit Limited makes it just a joy to drive every time I use it.

  • February 05 2016

    Good comfortable van although electrics are sometimes unreliable.

  • February 05 2016

    We've had our van since June last year, we use it for everything, including fishing taking the folks out, but obviously manly work, I do push the fact that we got it from Vanarama even went to the supermarket the other day and kept some poor guy and his wife talking about it for 1/2 an hour (well he started it). The only one thing that can be a pain is hills sometimes if you don't wind it up or someone slow gets in the way it can be a bit gutless but if you use the gears a bit more it's not too bad.

  • February 05 2016

    Really nice van and suits our requirement.

  • February 04 2016

    Absolutely brilliant, even when I become rich I will have one of these, far better than its rivals. The only thing I will change for next time I order from Vanarama is a vehicle more power as I have several hills to go up and over. It is fantastic.

  • February 04 2016

    I use the van for my work as a dog walker, I have had the van since Sept 14th the only problem I have is that I have had problems with the doors both drivers and passenger doors not closing properly. Other than this I am delighted with the van , it is comfortable and economic, as I do a lot of localized driving.

  • February 04 2016

    I drive to and from work, I've had it 18 months and I like the front heated window & heated seats, although front heated window is unreliable. It helps me to have all tools on site and drives well on all types of journeys as it's very comfy and the economy is good, I just wish it had a Sat Nav.

  • February 04 2016

    A great van overall, it could do with a bit more torque and mpg. Although the comfort is amazing and just like a car.

  • February 04 2016

    Excellent van. Drives like a high end car and great on the autobahns!

  • February 04 2016

    This van has been great for our business. It looks good which has improved our image and offers us plenty of load space without being too big which is handy when working on domestic properties as it is easy to drive anywhere. I would recommend this van to anyone especially at such a reasonable price.

  • February 04 2016

    Comfortable van on short and long journeys, drives like a quality car, fits all my plumbing needs and inexpensive to run.

  • February 04 2016

    I have had the van for just about a year now (doing building/landscaping) and I have clocked 14000 miles in that time. It still looks like new and I still love driving it. I love the heated seats and the quick demist in this weather. I even leave my mec c class at home and take the van. I find that economy is very good compared to my old van I would say I save around £45 a week in dev, which adds up to £180 a month,so really it pays for itself. From a business point of view it looks good and makes us look more respectable to our clients. To sum up, fantastic van the best I ever had.

  • February 03 2016

    The lower than 5 star ratings is because I have not had the van long enough to know.

  • February 03 2016

  • February 03 2016

    Lovely bit of kit, really good van.

  • February 03 2016

    Looks great and drives well. Lots of cockpit storage but nowhere to store anything other that 2ltr bottles, also not great on fuel compared to the 2.5 Vivaro sportive!

  • January 28 2016

    A great van for my business.

  • January 28 2016

    I love it.

  • January 28 2016

    Great looking van. Great spec. Great everything!!! Just needs a Sat Nav.

  • January 28 2016

    I've had my transit for 6 months now and I'm extremely happy with it. I only use it for short trips between customers although have done the occasional distance drive and it was very comfortable. My only slight on this van of all things is the door handle, it's in an awkward position and when opening the door in confined spaces it's nearly led to a bump on a number of occasions.

  • January 28 2016

    All in all a superb van with lots of features and gadgets. Fuel economy is not the best but still a great van.

  • January 28 2016

    Great drive with all the comforts, love it!

  • January 28 2016

    I love the new transit, it looks good and drives really well with all the comforts that make work easy.

  • January 28 2016

    It's a good solid van, good economy, looks good, very comfortable no matter how long the journey. Love fords heated front screen.

  • January 28 2016

    totally un-reliable, I have had dpf fitted after only 6000 miles plus it only does 20 mpg.

  • January 28 2016

    Excellent van, great spec, handles well, very comfortable. Ideal size for my business.

  • January 28 2016

    Nice, classy looking van. A pleasure to drive and in-cab gadgets are good. a very comfortable ride.

  • January 28 2016

    Thoroughly delighted with the van. It's a comfortable van to drive with a lot of helpful features like extra road lighting when turning corners. The van drives well but a bit costly on fuel. Overall though, I am very satisfied.

  • January 28 2016

    Fast, high torque, comfortable. Looks very nice.

  • January 28 2016

    Very nice van. The only thing I can fault is very minor but the interior lights in the back are not very bright.

  • January 25 2016

    Just like driving a car, but better as it has lots of space.

  • January 25 2016

    Love driving this and it does exactly what I need it to do.

  • January 22 2016

    Fantastic van will have the same again, not too bad on file costs. I have the custom so it has all the comforts you need.

  • January 22 2016

    I have been a heating engineer for 21 years and I can say with confidence that my new Ford Transit is the best van I have ever used for my work. It offers a great driver experience combined with the perfect load area for my work requirements. Not to mention the envious glances I get from drivers of lesser vans!

  • January 22 2016

    Hi there, I've had the vehicle for nearly two years and I love it, better than sliced bread. Does what it says on the tin. I use the van for business carrying heavy wall and floor tiles and its copes extremely well. There are no signs of muttering behind the wheel. Being a low roof van head room in the back still out rides other competitors in its class. The custom drives well through town or country with good acceleration when needed. Fuel costs are very reasonable but not getting the millage stated in the handbook. I love the design inside and out just like sitting in a car and sometimes even better than some of the new models on the road. The clutch is very smooth and I feel like I am in control not the van. Brakes are good and responsive. Now just a few dislikes: arm rest gets in the way of the handbrake. If you pull the handbrake a little too far up it seems like the cable has just snapped. Changing from first to second gear is sometimes a bit hard but okay if the revs die down. Drivers and passengers doors feel solid and shuts smoothly, but as for side and back doors these feel rather flimsy and seem as if they aren't shut properly. I'm disappointed with the steering as the van has a mind of its own when hitting a dip in the road finding myself having to fight with it can be rather scary at times. Last of all the windows judder when closing them in the rain. But still what a great van, thanks again guys great service.

  • January 22 2016

    Heated seats are great but should be fitted in the middle seat too.

  • January 22 2016

    I use my van for work purposes and for ferrying my children around mainly. I've had it for 11 months. The main thing I like is the voice activated controls for my phone.

  • January 22 2016

    Massive turbo lag, under powered, very sluggish starting on a morning, new oil pump and turbo after less than 2 years old, very nice to drive, nice extra,s like electric folding mirrors, heated seats, heated windscreen etc. Overall, nice van to drive when its running okay. Too many faults for a new van for me, won't be getting another Ford.

  • January 22 2016

    What do you use your vehicle for? Carrying stock from wholesaler. How long have you had it? 2 years What do you like best about it? Its looks. Do you dislike anything about it? No How does it help your business? The van looks brilliant so hopefully that reflects on the company. How does it drive? Excellent What sort of driving do you do? Short trips/motorway. What creature comforts has it got or would you like? I like cruise control, Ford Sync, auto everything. Would like built in Sat Nav. What is the ride quality like? Very good. How is the vehicle's economy? Probably not the best in its class but all the other positives outweigh that. Any other features or benefits you'd like to share? Love this van. Had a look in a Vivaro the other week (because they're cheaper)and it felt cheap and flimsy compared with the Transit. The Vivaro also has the gear stick mount sticking right out so you cant easily slide across and get out of the passenger door. Poor design. I will probably have another transit this year.

  • January 21 2016

    Great van overall, it's like driving a car and it's got everything I need. Only downside for me is with roof racks and ladders and fairly careful economic driving style I'm still only getting 31 mpg not great.

  • January 21 2016

    This is my first new transit but have had many used ones and as it was the ranges 50th year in production I decided to buy. I think the quality and features of the vehicle are excellent and also the modern look and design. It also gives a good impression to my customers. I work throughout Scotland and have no worries about reliability and is very comfortable on all journeys near and far.

  • January 21 2016

    We use the van for many things, moving stock around, taking all the kids to rugby and towing the caravan to France for our holiday. Our van was delivered in May 2015 and as soon as it arrived I knew I had made the right choice. The space in the back is huge, for us the LWB version was the one to choose. The most outstanding part of the van is the driving. All the seats are really comfortable and there were no complaints from passengers during the 5 hour drive to France. As for the driving position, it is like being in a car. If there was one thing they could change it would be the cruise control. Although the setup is great and easy to use, it does have to be re-engaged after changing gear. But using cruise control on long journeys and keeping the speed down has helped greatly with the fuel economy. I have achieved over 750 miles on one tank. The van is used mainly for collecting stock from around the country and I am driving long distances on my own. If there was one addition I would like to see on any double crew cab van it would be an easily removed bulk head and foldable seats. In an instance it would make the vehicle even more user friendly and practical. The entertainment system is a joy to use, it connects easily with my phone and although the van has DAB radio (brilliant for Radio 6) I can listen to any internet radio station as well. Out of the three I was considering, VW, Mercedes or Ford, I am really glad I chose the Ford. It has delivered on all fronts.

  • January 21 2016

    Great van and ticked all the boxes. It's a pleasure to drive.

  • January 21 2016

    I have now had my Transit for a year. I move agricultural and horticultural equipment from customers to my workshop, either in the back or on a trailer, sometimes both trailer and rear a loaded. It drives like a quality car, is fully equipped and easy to operate.

  • January 21 2016

    My van gets used for my daily commute plus general running around for my business which is a kitchen and bathroom showroom. It gets used for approximately 3 to 4 light but voluminous deliveries per week. I have now had it for 6 weeks and I cannot tell you how happy I am with it and how my daily life at work has improved. Before I would complain about having to pick up and drop things off, now it doesn’t even enter my head any more as driving is now a pleasure and it makes a nice break from being in the shop. I cannot think of one negative thing about this van. Everyone has commented on how smart it looks and the colour and I think it gives a nice professional look to the business. My driving is mainly local with occasional long runs. Comfort is superb and motorway driving akin to being in a good quality car! It has every single creature comfort I could possibly want. As I don’t carry heavy loads I chose the 270 variant as I was told that this would give a better ride when empty - which it certainly does. My last van used to aggravate my back problems. The vehicles economy is excellent. The engine is more than powerful enough and I could have easily managed with the lower output one at that. It is easily as fast as our family car and would sit on the motorway at well over the speed limit without any strain or noise - not that I did that of course!! The Ford Sync bluetooth hands free answering is so useful. I can now call and take calls on the move in total safety. Long gone are the days of the phone ringing and having to park up to take the call in case it’s urgent - which was always stressful! All of the information on all the vans is on the Vanarama website plus lengthy and informative reviews. I have seen a few customers leave reviews moaning about the van they received. All I can say is that if you are in business for yourself and making such an investment it’s up to you to make an effort and do some research on what you need. I spent a lot of time picking this van and when I had queries I simply asked my Vanarama advisor who was very helpful. The van I received in the end is a perfect choice. I cannot say how happy I am with it.

  • January 21 2016

    The van is comfortable and it feels like you are driving a car and not a van. Good on fuel. Would recommend to any business.

  • January 21 2016

    Hi I have had my transit van now for 2 months and love it can't recommend Vanarama enough. Cheers from Chris the plasterer.

  • January 21 2016

    Changing from a Ford Transit Connect to this has been amazing. The interior cab has everything you'd want from a car with automatic lights and wipers, cruise control, DAB radio and even heated seats! It has a better spec than our car!! It also looks great and is a great asset to help with the smart professional image of our plumbing brand.

  • January 20 2016

    I am really happy with it . It's a great great van and ideal for my business.

  • January 20 2016

    Brilliant van, brilliant service. Thank you!

  • January 20 2016

    I have had my van for just over 3 months and I love it! Great drive, looks great, drives better than my car, good on fuel, comfortable to drive, nice to go to work in every day. It's the best van on the market. I wish I'd done this years ago.

  • January 20 2016

    Hi, I like the design and the van goes very well. I will recommend the van all my friends.

  • January 20 2016

    Great van. A little juicy, but worth it for the power and pull when loaded. The big downer is, once again designers have failed on, not being able to fit an 8x4 sheet in straight and upright.

  • January 20 2016

    Excellent van drives like a car, looks good, reasonably good on fuel, my van is a swb and my only gripe is the load area could have been 2 inches longer to allow for 8x4 sheets of plywood etc. Very happy with the van.

  • January 20 2016

    Hello, I have owned a LWB 125 Transit Custom (Limited) for 14 months, it is a 64 plate and I have had it from new. Overall the van is very good and by far the best van I have owned. It is very easy to drive, has great traction and fantastic overall performance. To keep things in perspective I want to talk about practical aspects to help guide peoples decisions. Fuel: With urban driving if you drive calmly you will get 470-490 miles to a full tank. If you utilise the cruise control (which is very good) with a combination of motorway and urban mileage, expect around 550-600. High motorway mileage can expect 650+ to the tank. It has 6 gears and is very good at cruising, even when fully loaded. I drive around 2/3rds of total weight most of the time. Cabin: Absolute luxury! Compared easily to many high end cars. Mine doubles up as a family vehicle and my 4 year old rides in het car seat at the front all the time. There are no Iso fixes in regular 2/3 seat version. The front is very easy to clean with a smooth moulded floor. A hand brush, cloth and cleaning spray will keep it clean with minimal effort. The air con is great, digital radio, CD player, heated seats, heated front windscreen, built in Sat Nav which automatically updates (it is very good), cruise controls, electrical windows, electric wing mirrors and a good amount of storage. It is spacious for three. I have a dash cam which was easy to fit. The back: You can easily fit sheets of plasterboard, however the length of the rear is a little over 2.9m. The space under the passenger seat allows for a good amount of 3m lengths of things like pipework, however people who carry large amounts of 3m materials such as timber may struggle. You will need something to keep the tube from sliding around, however makeshift racking can easily be installed. The flooring in the rear is made of the same material as the front and is easy to clean. The doors lock in position preventing the wind or mishaps from them slamming closed or opening out into the street etc which is a nice feature. In terms of performance it pulls well uphill, has good traction and brakes well even at heavy loads. If you really want to know it will do around 110mph and accelerates well, although I would advise you not do drive it in such a manor. Servicing/Warranty: It needs to be serviced every 2 years or 30,000 miles. They do advise an intern service which I would do under the warranty period. Interm service is around £100 and regular £250-300. You have a 3 year warranty with 1 years Ford Road Assistance. Mine has has never broke down. Criticisms: The bodywork is a little thin and it will dent easily. I have had a few dents appear from car parks. Most are going like this now, however if you are used to a high spec Transporter you will see the difference.You can get the odd glitch with the on board computer. Mostly it works very well but niggles can occur for brief periods.

  • January 20 2016

    Best van by miles!

  • January 20 2016

    I absolutely love my van. I run a cake shop and use my van to deliver wedding cakes. The storage area is big enough to hold 10 large wedding cakes so on a busy Saturday I save time by loading as many as I like and then setting off. The cabin is so comfortable> I can get both my children's car seats in. I love the hands-free voice activated function. As I'm always receiving phonecalls, the excellent speaker and microphone means I never miss anything. It has lots of thoughtful little touches. It even has a sunglasses holder above the drivers seat! How thoughtful is that. It is also easier to drive than some cars. I can genuinely say I love my van. It's beautiful to look at and even nicer to drive! It's also got fantastic diesel economy and does 300-375 miles to a full tank depending on whether I'm driving within the city or on a motorway.

  • January 20 2016

    Amazing for a van. Drives almost as good as my car.

  • January 20 2016

    The worst van I have ever purchased. Constantly got a flat battery if on a site all day and going in and out of the back. Is very underpowered and struggles to get 23mpg. Should have never swapped from VW.

  • January 20 2016

    I use the van for plumbing and heating. So far it has been great!! Very reliable and very nice to drive. I'm very happy with it.

  • January 19 2016

    The van is used for my work in roofing. I’ve had the van approx 6 months and it drives like a car and looks good, with its silver alloy roof rack. I also use the van when not working as it came fully loaded with all the extras. It is also very economical and overall a great asset.

  • January 19 2016

    Brilliant!

  • January 19 2016

    It has been a van for my business. It is reliable and has not let me down and I am looking to renew in July and will upgrade to a sport.

  • January 19 2016

    The transit custom is a quality van & far superior to the other vans that all look the same but have different name badges on the front & back.

  • January 15 2016

    Great van and a good progression from the old style. feels more like a car than a van.

  • January 13 2016

    Nice van with lots of gadgets, spacious & good for the engineers needs.

  • December 30 2015

    Lovely drive good van but most disapponting thing it is very underpowered compared to previous vans I have owned.

  • December 17 2015

    Lovely van, very practical being just the right size. Poor performance considering it's a 2.2 TDCI!

  • December 17 2015

    Excellent modern feel, love the look.

  • December 17 2015

    Good van.

  • December 17 2015

    Excellent vehicle with great versatility. I can carry 6 people in comfort and loads of space for tools and equipment. The build quality again is excellent, my previous van was a VW Transporter and this Transit Custom is equality as good, or even better. Finally, the standard specification is very high on my “Limited Model”, heated seats, Cruise Control, Voice Control, Alloy Wheels and so much more. Well Done Ford!

  • December 17 2015

    Feels like a van of the future than the present. Miles ahead of my previous transit.

  • December 17 2015

    The van is brand new to us and we are extremely satisfied with it.

  • December 17 2015

    Love it so far.

  • December 03 2015

    Great. Exactly the kind of impression I'm looking to make for the company. The only issue is the fuel usage that you indicated on the fuel calculator. If the prospective owner lives in London have an option to declare that it drinks a lot more fuel than your estimate. We are in traffic all day so it's obviously not costing the levels you're indicating.

  • December 02 2015

    Great van, very comfortable.

  • December 02 2015

    Only had the vehicle for a couple of weeks and is living up to my initial impression of it being a cracking van. I have had several comments from customers and friends stating that it is a nice looking van especially in the deep impact blue colour. Cannot comment on reliability or overall running costs as it is still early days of ownership so have only marked it as three stars, however, fully expect it to be okay.

  • December 02 2015

    For the money (compared to other vehicles in its class) I don't think it could be better.

  • December 02 2015

    Over the moon, it's a great van!

  • November 27 2015

    Perfect vehicle for us and great addition to our fleet.

  • November 26 2015

    Nice looking vehicle, performance not so great, but that maybe because I got used to my old van after 13yrs.

  • November 26 2015

    Smart, professional and an asset to my businesses

  • November 26 2015

    smart looking vehicle, feels great to drive

  • November 20 2015

    Very good van, nice to drive. Good load space in back, like the load through bulkhead. Nice looking and practical for what I need.

  • November 16 2015

    excellent van, very practicable and suits our requirements.

  • November 05 2015

    A fantastic van with loads of extras inc Bluetooth electric folding mirrors front and rear sensors and the AC is a bonus. Can get 3 metre lengths lying long ways inside the van away from thieves eyes. The lights move when cornering for better night vision. The only down side would be nothing to grip on to when unloading the ladder from the roof rack. 9.5 /10. The best van I've ever had. That includes the two German equivalents.

  • November 04 2015

    Great van with excellent spec.

  • November 04 2015

    Great van looks good, good mileage and nice to drive.

  • November 04 2015

    Haven't had it long but it's a dream to drive and very well equipped.

  • November 04 2015

    Far too nice for a work van but what a Van..very, very pleased.

  • November 04 2015

    Initial impression was pleasing as its new. The tech is by far the highlight but after you have driven the van, which i regret not doing now, you would realise that the suspension lets you feel every imperfection in the road and the fuel economy is worse than a 15 year old van. No really! I'm not even getting 29 mpg. My previous 4 year old peugeot van was giving me 51 mpg with no cargo and 39mpg fully laden. dread to think what mine delivers fully laden. This van fails on the most important points when getting a vehicle, this is why i presume FORD is not the main commercial vehicle in the top utility companies who are the largest purchasers of commercial vans. British gas use predominately volkswagen, E ON and SSE use FIAT as their main vehicle, HOMESERVE use vauxhall vivario etc. The trend is obvious. This is by no means a premium van even though the price is. Strongly suggest you go for an alternative van as this one i would gladly give back today for a good old comfortable van with decent MPG so as to not cost my company thousands of pound over the term of my lease. It hurts to write a negative review but FORD are appauling at delivering commercial vehicles.

  • November 04 2015

    Very good van. Does 100 miles a day. Economy not as good as was hoping for 6 seater is great not the comfiest chairs though.

  • November 04 2015

    I'm a bricklayer. Have this vehicle for over 4 months. Best van I've ever had and I've had older transits. Bluetooth is brilliant with iPhone. Only problem is sometimes it takes a while demisting windscreen, even when A/C is on. Lots of room for tools and always a quality drive. Very economical, lots of storage and cup holders. Side lights when turning in the dark, come on, which lights up the kerb. Hands free commands are brilliant.

  • November 04 2015

    Very pleased. This is a new brand for me as I was on a Renault traffic. The van is modern, comfortable and practical.

  • November 04 2015

    I'd been putting off going for my first lease vehicle for a while. I wasn't sure how tricky it'd be and whether it would offer value for money but after buying a new car last time I realised the depreciation made leasing a viable solution and I wanted a van. The Transit Custom caught my eye. It looks great on the outside, has a plush interior so was the best of both worlds. It is a practical vehicle with all the luxury features and comfort you'd expect in a decent car. The lease itself was a piece of cake to sort out. It also worked out cheaper than the finance on my car - win, win. I've had the van now for just over a month and I love it. It drives beautifully, it's perfect for my business needs and it can handle my hobbies as well. I can't fault it so far and I wish I'd done it years ago.

  • November 03 2015

    Ok

  • November 02 2015

    Comfortable drive with the limited spec. Makes a long journey fatigue free. Power wise I wish I had the higher 150ps engine at times, but don't get me wrong the 125ps is okay and still pulls well just sometimes if you need to overtake you just have to let it build up speed first. Fuel consumption is a tad higher than expected especially on the motorway. If you sit at 60 mph it makes a difference and a good saving. This maybe where the bigger horse powered engine would come into play. Overall....love it.

  • November 02 2015

    This van hits the spot for us. Just the right amount of space, just the right size to get in a fair number of carparks in London and very comfortable. I drove it from London to Glasgow fully laden, it's comfortable enough not to have to stop and it didn't miss a beat.

  • November 02 2015

    More comfortable than a lot of cars on the driver's side - seats a bit too upright for long distance passengers.

  • November 02 2015

    Great van. Not a bad word to say about it. Comfortable and nice to drive. Went from driving a car to this with no problems.

  • November 02 2015

    A fantastic vehicle. It's load area is larger than I expected good for work and pleasure.

  • November 02 2015

    Had the custom for 11 months now, love the comfort and practicality it provides. The economy of the van is suitable for the business, do not need the tanker to follow behind us! I wish, we'd waited for a crew version as we'd prefer that, such a shame, but as a working vehicle, it cannot be faulted. It drives like a car, it has the comforts such as an arm rest, there is nothing in my opinion to dislike.

  • November 02 2015

    I have had the van for 5 months and I am more than pleased with it. It's a very comfortable and nice to drive vehicle, it's equally as nice to drive on rural roads as it is on motorways. I am pleased with the fuel consumption averaging 33 mpg bearing in mind the van is sporting a roof rack and tube carrier in addition to the weight of my everyday tools and fittings related to the plumbing sector. I have achieved 39 mpg on 250 mile motorway run using the cruise control for the entire journey where possible. I was surprised to find that this model does not have the Start-Stop function which is about my only critique for the van. To summarise it is everything I expected from a Ford Transit and a lot more!!

  • November 02 2015

    Great van but fuel economy could be better.

  • October 29 2015

    Just what I expected.

  • October 29 2015

    Complete luxury worth every penny. I feel safe and confident with this vehicle.

  • October 29 2015

    By far the best van I have driven to date. I'm very impressed with the quality and handling.

  • October 28 2015

    The vehicle is quality, can be used for business and for a family run around. It handles like a car and is very economical on fuel. All in all I am very happy.

  • October 28 2015

    Fantastic van all round. I do recommend Vanarama all the time.

  • October 28 2015

    Van is used for company deliveries. I've only had it for four weeks hence some of the replies. I can't find any dislikes at the moment and it's tax beneficial to the business.

  • October 28 2015

    A fantastic van with everything I need. I have a painting and decorating business and the van is perfect. I can even get my 3 piece ladder in it, so no need for roof bars. Great.

  • October 28 2015

    Perfect for my needs really impressed so far.

  • October 28 2015

    Very nice van I would have another.

  • October 26 2015

    I am very happy with my transit and it's amazing especially with all the extras. I have worked with all types of transits over the last 35 years and this one has been the best. I have had this one since July the 27th this year and after 2 months I realised the wing mirrors actually turn in on their own. I had to laugh as I've been pushing them in. I had the joy of driving the mark 1 transit with elastic steering and the transit is the Rolls Royce of vans. This van makes me look very professional in front of my customers.Thank you Ronnie Wood.

  • October 26 2015

    Great van but very costly on fuel when loaded.