Nissan NV200 Van Reviews from Vanarama customers
svg_svg_svg_svg_svg_svg_svgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvg_brochuresvg_burgersvg_bvrlasvg_bvrlasvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvgsvg_vrsvg_icon-fleetsvg_icon-pickup svg_svg_svg_svg_svg_svg_svg_svg_svg_svg_iconsiconsiconsicons

We're closed.
Need a quote? Chat to iVan

Nissan NV200 Van Review

(27 Reviews)
  • Alabaster White

  • Flame Red

Latest Reviews

  • Paul Harris - 24/07/2017

    A super mid range van.

  • Russell Day - 01/08/2016

    Great.

  • Martin Farquhar - 18/07/2016

    Only had it a week but spacious and economical, looks like it will be perfect for my needs.

Read more reviews
  • Handling: STARS
  • Comfort: STARS
  • Quality: STARS
  • Reliability: STARS
  • Performance: STARS
  • Practicality: STARS
  • Running Costs: STARS
  • Value for Money: STARS

Our Review

The Nissan NV200 is an innovative, compact urban van which beats the opposition hands down with its surprisingly large load volume and payload, car like refinement and carefully thought-through ergonomics. Powered by two versions of Renault’s 1.5-litre dCi diesel engine, the NV200 is highly manoeuvrable and relatively frugal. The NV200 is Nissan's own work and is a van designed to set new standards for interior space, comfort and practicality. It's certainly an impressive vehicle and its light steering and tight turning circle mean that it's well suited to town driving, making it ideal for courier drops. It's not out of its depth on the motorway either.

At a glance

Admittedly very Japanese-looking, the NV200 uses some innovative packaging ideas to create what is possibly the largest and most practical cargo area of its class. Although a little under 4.4m in overall length, the NV200 nevertheless has a load bay that’s more than 2m long (2040mm). With front-wheel drive and the adoption of a highly compact rear suspension design, the NV200 can swallow two standard Euro pallets in its cargo area at a time. At 1.84m high, the NV200 is no taller than its rivals while, at 520mm from ground level, the floor itself benefits from being the lowest in class to ease loading, helping to boost the cargo volume to 4.1 cu. m, with a maximum pay load of 771kg.

Engines and spec.

Nissan has added more grunt to its Transit-sized van thanks to an efficient new engine and new six-speed manual gearbox. The NV200 gets a new, more powerful version of its 1.5-litre diesel engine. Making 108bhp, it joins the 87bhp engine currently available and emits 139g/km, just 2g/km of CO2 more than the lower-powered unit.

The engine is mated to a slick gearbox, which is smooth and easy to use. Top speed for the van has increased by 1mph to 99mph, while the rest of the van’s underpinnings remain the same. You can opt for this new engine on all except the bottom spec E trim of the NV200.

There have also been several upgrades to each spec level: Bluetooth hands-free is now standard on all trim levels, while SE trim now gets a rear-view camera. Furthermore, there is a new trim pack for those wanting even more equipment. The HI-TECH option pack includes air con and keyless entry. 

At the wheel

Inside, the NV200 has a feeling of quality, with many parts of the cabin shared across other Nissan car models - especially the stereo system - meaning it's refined and modern. A high and upright seating position makes visibility very good, while the seats offer plenty of support making it comfortable for long journeys. To create more space in the cockpit, the gear lever extends from the two-tone, wrap-around centre console, while above the gear lever the centre section houses the heating and ventilation controls and the double DIN radio slot. Surprisingly, the version we tested did not come with air conditioning.

There is also plenty of usable storage space and sensibly positioned cubby holes, which makes the NV200 feel as though it was designed by a van driver rather than just for a driver. Both the driver and passenger get a cup holder on the dash as well as in the central console, while there is a good-sized dash-top cubby - ideal for keeping paperwork handy - plus extra hidden stowage between the two seats. The glove-box is also a good size but has no lid, meaning anything inside is left on display, and the door pockets are also very narrow. However, there is a drawer under the driver's seat to keep more important things hidden from view. On the debit side, the electric window switches are mounted on a plastic pod which digs into the side of the driver’s or passenger’s knee.

Load space and practicality

The NV200’s big strong point is its load space, particularly in relation to its compact external dimensions. The boxy design enables 4.2 cubic metres of volume in the rear with a payload capacity of 739kg. The compact van has room for two Europallets and its tall roof allows bulky loads up to 1.36 metres in height to be carried.  The basic E grade NV200 comes with a tubular bulkhead behind the driver, while SE and N-TEC versions have a full-steel bulkhead. A bulkhead with a window is available as an option. All NV200 vans come with six load lashing points in the floor and twin sliding side doors, making it easy to get at the load from either side of the vehicle. Nissan offers a host of accessories for the load bay of the NV200, including body side mouldings and wheel arch protection.

On the road

The NV200 is a relatively slim, compact van that runs on unusually small wheels for improved manoeuvrability around town. The 1.5 dCi 85 bhp diesel engine comes with a five-speed manual gearbox, while the 110bhp engine has an extra forward gear, offering six-speeds for slightly more relaxed cruising. There's no automatic transmission option, though both engines have enough power to drive the van forward with the traffic. Our test vehicle came with the commonly-used 85bhp unit and we found that this engine performs well with a good amount of low down power and a smooth delivery, plus it is economical and refined. Light steering and a precise five-speed gearbox make the NV200 ideal for driving in built up areas and narrow streets, while it also performs well on windy roads with neat and controlled cornering. It's extremely quiet on the road with very little wind and engine noise, even at higher speeds.

Our Verdict

We were impressed with the Nissan NV200 and liked the thoughtful approach taken by the manufacturer to produce an outstanding vehicle, purposely designed with the driver and operator firmly in mind. Although it’s not going to win any awards for its rather odd styling, there is no denying that the NV200 is an interesting concept. The NV200 feels well built and is unlikely to let you down, with the interior being rugged enough to withstand daily bumps and scrapes.

Our man with a van

Adrian Foster

Motoring journalist Adrian Foster has been commissioned to write impartial van and pick up reviews for our website, specifically to help with your decision making process. We have provided him with a van and the spec and nothing more, so you can rely on his views being real and honest.

Adrian began his career in the motor retail industry with Perry’s Group before turning his hand to motoring journalism. He launched the Drivelines motoring press agency as a means of providing high quality journalism on new cars, commercial vehicles, motorsport and the motor industry at large.

Customer reviews

Below are our customer reviews for the Nissan NV200. Want to have your say? Leave a review for the Nissan NV200 now.

  • Nissan Nv200 Diesel
    June 06 2016

    Very pleased, I would definitely get another for our fleet.

  • Nissan Nv200 Diesel
    May 03 2016

    So far so good, I have only done 200 miles. Nice an easy to drive. Could do with more storage in cabin, thought it came with centre console but plenty of space in rear. Reversing camera is in a awkward place, easy to use if reversing in a straight line. I am getting around 35mpg.

  • Nissan Nv200 Diesel
    March 29 2016

    I am very pleased with the Nissan at the moment, quite nippy even when loaded which backs up my decision to go for the 110hp instead of the 90hp. Enough room in the back for my tools and materials. I like the bluetooth and reversing camera. The only negative is the lack of storage space in the cab but in truth this was pointed out on a previous review so I was aware of this anyway, this might stop me from cluttering the front up with rubbish.

  • January 05 2016

    Rear number plate light has dropped out and the gear change indicator is permanently on, this will be sorted out by my local dealer - no big deal! Otherwise does exactly what it says on the tin. Ply lining is spot on.

  • November 13 2015

    The van itself is great. It came with a lot of things that I didn't think would come as standard eg. reverse parking camera. Its nice to drive and the MPG is a bonus. The only thing that I wasn't happy with was the quality of workmanship regarding the ply-lining, which you guys already know about. It looks like a DIY job and in hindsight I should have done it myself. I will be emailing the photos of the ply-lining over today.

  • Nissan Nv200 Diesel
    September 29 2015

    I was very impressed with the layout of it and it is very practical with sliding doors on either side.🚐🚐 . Thank you very much

  • Nissan Nv200 Diesel
    September 02 2015

    The size is a bonus over other similar vans and drives like a car. It can be a bit bouncy due to small wheels, but it's not an issue. I rate it as a big small van or a small big van. Would recommend one to any business and you can get some good deals on a new buy.

  • July 23 2015

    So far very pleased.

  • July 23 2015

    No comments

  • Nissan Nv200 Diesel
    July 23 2015

    Good, practical and reliable vehicle. Would definitely recommend to other tradesmen.

  • Nissan Nv200 Diesel
    July 13 2015

    Apart from a gearbox problem, which was easily fixed, so far so good.

  • July 08 2015

    Very economical and a comfortable drive.

  • Nissan Nv200 Diesel
    May 13 2015

    Great for money.

  • Nissan Nv200 Diesel
    May 12 2015

    Generally pleased apart from the lack of usable cabin storage space and the inability to alter seat-belt height. Window switch position causes uncomfortable leg position due to its impact on leg position. Design issue detract from overall satisfaction.

  • Nissan Nv200 Diesel
    February 03 2015

    It is a good vehicle with smart looks and ease of driving. It is almost a pleasure to go to work.

  • Nissan Nv200 Diesel
    February 02 2015

    Too early to say only had 25miles in it.

  • December 09 2014

    It's hard to judge as only got van today, but on first thoughts I'm very impressed.

  • November 04 2014

    Ideal for my business.

  • Nissan Nv200 Diesel
    October 02 2014

    It's a good workhorse, does the job.

  • Nissan Nv200 Diesel
    September 29 2014

    I ordered this budget van with no high expectations. I am pleased with the vehicle, it is what I expected.

  • June 26 2014

    Brilliant van - very economical -reduced our company fuel bill by 50% in one year

  • Nissan Nv200 Diesel
    June 18 2014

    Seems a very good van but its early days yet.

  • Nissan Nv200 Diesel
    April 08 2014

    Drives like a car with more load capacity than similar vans. Very pleased.

  • Nissan Nv200 Diesel
    March 18 2014

    Good Van

Read more reviews
Tomorrow's opening hours are 8am-10pm